you are an original

“You are an original.”  – Auntie Kamakawiwo’ole, bio-chemist, 7:30p 9/8/2010

These words have had a profound effect upon my psyche.  Mainly because all of my life I have been trying to fit in – fit in to the world’s definition of life, love, happiness, health, success, beauty.  Worry and fear of what others may think of me has become ingrained within my subconscious.  Even though I’ve always said, “I don’t care what anyone thinks,” I’m learning that in fact, I do care what everyone thinks.  We may not want to admit it, but if we grew up in this world, we all care about what everyone thinks.  It’s part of us whether we like it or not because the world has taught us that if we don’t fit in then we are at worst psychotic and at best unpopular.

When I heard the words “you are an original” from the mouth of a bio-chemist, my mouth dropped, my mind opened, and I realized my uniqueness as one of God’s creations and my purposeful place in His Story of Redemption.  Each and every one of us is an original.  Like snowflakes – not one carbon copy of another.  Each one completely unique in design.  Each one part of God’s plan.

Leave a Reply

